James Pepper Henry is Named to AAM Board

James Pepper Henry
James Pepper Henry

Three leading museum professionals have been elected to the board of directors of the American Alliance of Museums (AAM), serving three-year terms. The incoming board members are:

Chevy Humphrey, president and CEO, Arizona Science Center, Phoenix

James Pepper Henry, executive director, Gilcrease Museum, Tulsa, OK

Kelly McKinley, director, OMCA Lab, Oakland Museum of California

AAM’s incoming board chair for 2016-2018 is Douglas S. Jones, director of the Florida Museum of Natural History in Gainesville. A board member of AAM since 2012, Jones also is professor of geology and biology at the University of Florida, and has served on the boards of the Florida Association of Museums, the Toomey Foundation for the Natural Sciences, and the Association of Science Museum Directors.

“I welcome these visionary leaders from our field, and I look forward to the experience and insight they bring to our board,” said Laura L. Lott, Alliance president and CEO. “Their guidance will be key to fulfill our mission to champion museums and nurture excellence in partnership with our members and allies.”

The board members’ new terms begin on Sunday, May 29, 2016 with the conclusion of the AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo in Washington, DC.  Read more about AAM’s board of directors.

About the American Alliance of Museums

The American Alliance of Museums has been bringing museums together since 1906, helping to develop standards and best practices, gathering and sharing knowledge, and providing advocacy on issues of concern to the entire museum community. Representing more than 30,000 individual museum professionals and volunteers, institutions and corporate partners serving the museum field, the Alliance is the only organization representing the entire scope of the broad museum community. For more information, visit www.aam-us.org.